Set Up the Salesforce Destination

Last Updated: May 24, 2022

The Salesforce Destination allows you to create a task or chatter message in Salesforce whenever a person/company matches an audience.

Screen_Shot_2019-05-06_at_11.51.42_PM.png

Common use cases include: 

  • Assign your account executives a task in SFDC when a named account with no activity in the last 30 days hits our site.
  • Notify your account executives when any of their accounts with an open opportunity has a spike in traffic and hits the pricing page.
  • Create a task when a contact leaves their job.

💡 Clearbit Tip: Because you don't want your Sales team's inboxes flooded with open tasks, we recommend that you use this destination with only narrowly scoped audiences.

Enable the Destination

  1. Navigate to any audience in Clearbit.
  2. Click the Destinations tab.
    Screen_Shot_2022-05-18_at_6.15.18_PM.png
  3. Click the Create button in the Salesforce box, and a pop up will appear.
    Screen_Shot_2022-05-18_at_6.22.15_PM.png
  4. Select one of the options in the Trigger box, which sets the criteria for a person/company to trigger the destination:
    • When a company enters the audience
      • Triggers only when a company/person enters the audience.
    • When a company exists the audience
      • Triggers only when a company/person exits the audience. 
    • On page view
      • Triggers every time company/person views a page on your site.
  5. Select one of the Configure Salesforce options:
    • Post message to Salesforce chatter
      • Posts a chatter message whenever a person/company matches the audience. 
      • Body Template - Sets a custom message for the comments on the body of the Chatter post (customize with Liquid templates).
    • Create a Salesforce Task
      • Creates an open task in Salesforce on the Account/Lead/Contact that matches the audience. This task will automatically be assigned to the record owner. Note: If a company/person is associated with multiple Salesforce records, a task will be added to each.
  6. Write your message in the Message body box.
  7. Decide if you want to Enable Delivery Suppression. When enabled, people/companies that you've been alerted to within the past x days/weeks/months will be excluded. In the image below, a company would only trigger the Destination if they haven't triggered one in the past 5 days.
    Screen_Shot_2019-05-25_at_4.35.55_PM.png
  8. Click the Save changes button.